CHICAGO — In the culmination of the 2017 Premier Basketball League season, the Kentucky Mavericks advanced to the PBL Finals for the first time in team history, where they will face the two-time defending champion Rochester Razorsharks for the PBL Title.

The Mavericks advanced via a 109-97 win over the Ohio Bootleggers. The Razorsharks edged the Jamestown Jackals 98-91 for the right to defend their title for the third time.

These two opponents are no strangers to one another. After splitting the series matchup last season, the Mavericks jumped out to capture the first two contests, before Rochester was able to win on the road in Kentucky. Both teams have shown that they can win on their opponent’s home floor this season, with only Kentucky being able to hold serve at home.

“This has been a finals series that has been building for two years,” said PBL Commissioner Dennis Truax. “Both franchises are the pinnacles of success on and off the court in the basketball world. They have proven to be elite organizations in the PBL and this will be a great series. Look for every game to be a hard-fought contest. I am excited to see both of these franchises compete for the PBL Title.”

Game One of the PBL Finals will take place at the Owensboro Sportscenter on Thursday at 8:30 p.m. Games Two and Three will commence from the Blue Cross Arena in Rochester on Sunday, April 9 at 2 p.m. and if needed, Tuesday, April 11 at 7 p.m. For further information, visit the PBL website and social media outlets.